Exhibition Pieces

Exhibition – 22nd -25th July 10-7 at City Lit, Covent Garden.

Am busy trying to sort out which pieces I am going to exhibit at City Lit at the conclusion of our two year Creative Basketry course.  Do I try and go with something cohesive/focused or something that shows the range of work I have produced over the last two years?

I am leaning towards pieces that were inspired by the Wildflower Meadows at the Olympic Park.  I fell in love with the amazing wildflower plantings and absolutely loved the colours themes, particularly the hot reds, oranges and yellows and the mauves, pinks and purples.  When designing baskets I always start with colour and the meadows gave me lots of options – when it came to form I was influenced by the structure of the Olympic statium and the velodrome and these can be seen in some of my pieces.

The dyed cane basket below is a hexagonal weave with interweaving.  The basket at the top of the page is a knotted yarn interwoven with cane, wrie, gift ribbon and polyproplene.

 

 

 

